Appalachian State University

287 Rivers Street Boone, NC 28608


Community Foundation Partner

Member Since: 1975

Photo of Appalachian State University

Organization Overview

Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Boone, North Carolina, Appalachian State University offers a challenging academic environment, energetic campus life and breathtaking location. Appalachian combines the best attributes of a small liberal arts college with those of a large research university. Known for its value and affordability, Appalachian enrolls about 18,000 students and offers more than 150 undergraduate and graduate majors. Small classes and close interactions between faculty and students create a strong sense of community. Appalachian is one of 16 universities in the University of North Carolina system.
Appalachian is consistently listed among the top 15 southern universities by U.S. News and World Report and a best value by Forbes and Kiplinger's Personal Finance magazines.
Student learning and student success come from a challenging academic curriculum, Member classroom environments and close collaboration between faculty members and students on scholarly activities. A strong emphasis on undergraduate research, global learning and interdisciplinary connections are at the core of Appalachian's academic activities.
Students learn to adapt to new environments, integrate knowledge from diverse sources and continue learning throughout their lives. An emphasis on community service, internships, campus involvement and cultural and recreational activities creates a lively, energetic and engaging campus environment where learning can take place both inside and outside the classroom.
Photo of Appalachian State University


David Cook

Director of Constituency Relations

Adryona Nelson

Alice Roess

Amber Chapman

Amber Mellon

Barbara Armstrong


Becky Gosky

Coordinator, Relocation & Dual Career Assistance

Brandon Nelson

Director of University Housing

carey maple

Charles Ford

Charlie Wallin

Assistant Director of Food Services - Catering

David Jamison

Deanne Smith

Diane Coffey

Emily Wilson

Ethan Winkler

Frances Keel

Director, Conference & Event Services

George Baldwin

Exec. Director-Corporate & Foundation Relations

Harry Davis

NCBA Professor of Banking

Jason Parker

Director, Holmes Convocation Center

Katy Willis

Department of Housing, East Service Desk Supervisor

Keith Martin

Distinguished Professor of Theatre

Les Miller

Lisa Krenn

Mandy Southern

Mara Macchia

Marissa Winkler

Megan Kasper

Pilar Fotta

Assistant Director for Relocation and Dual Careers

Regina Hartley

Retired Dean of Business and Industry

Ron Elmore

Sandy Vannoy

Dean of Walker College of Business

Sarah Garrow

Executive Director of Orientation

Scott Hinkson

Sharon Bell

Shawn Bergman


Shelley Leder

Sheri Everts

Taylor Wittmer

Traci Royster

Director Staff Development & Strategic Initiatives

Virginia Wallace

Director of Development

Will Sears

Areas of Expertise