Welcome New 2023 Board Members!

Posted By: David Jackson Chamber News,

After completing the membership voting process, and consultation with the Nominating Committee, the Boone Area Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce it will add seven members to its Board of Directors, effective July 1, 2023. A total of 19 nominees appeared on the ballot for consideration and nearly 200 individual votes were cast by the membership.

“We are excited to welcome our new members to the Boone Area Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors,” said Heidi Ragan, Chair Elect, who ascends to Board Chair effective July 1. “I’d like to thank all who put their name on the ballot this year. That number of applicants speaks to the activity and strength of our Chamber. I’d like to thank those whose terms are expiring this year for their leadership and dedication to the Board during their tenure. I look forward to serving alongside our new board members. Each brings invaluable experiences and perspectives to the Board, and I can’t wait to see what we can accomplish together while supporting our incredible Boone Area Chamber of Commerce team.”

Each new member was elected to a three-year term from July 1, 2023-June 30, 2026. Upon completion of their initial term, each member is eligible to serve a consecutive three-year term upon mutual agreement of the individual and the Nominating Committee.

“We are excited to welcome such a dynamic group to our Board of Directors,” said David Jackson, President/CEO of the Boone Area Chamber of Commerce. “We have over 770 members made up of companies of all shapes and sizes. The perspective these incoming board members bring will further complement a Board that is truly reflective of our overall Chamber membership.”

Boone Area Chamber of Commerce
Incoming Board Members
Effective July 1, 2023 

Name Title Business
Carrie Afanador Executive Director Immigrant Connection of the High Country
Shirley Alexander General Manager Booneshine Brewing Company
Angela Heavner Owner 180 Float Spa
Jim Hamilton Watauga County Director NC Cooperative Extension
Nathaniel Johnson Business Risk Consultant Granite Insurance 
Danielle Neibaur General Manager / Owner The Horton Hotel / The Inn at Crestwood
Amanda White Vice President, Banking Center Manager First Horizon



For any additional information, please contact David Jackson at 828-264-2225 or by email at david@boonechamber.com.